Anyone who knows me knows that my son is my sidekick. He’s always up for adventure; he’s been hiking, camping, fishing and is my SUP buddy.

Recently I became involved in two things: I was chosen as an Explorer Chick Ambassador, which focuses on adventure travel and one-day experiences for females; I was also chosen as a Trailblazer for the 10k Women Trail Project, which I posted about last week.These efforts are meant to inspire and encourage females to participate in outdoor/adventure recreation and also to hone skills and confidence.

I am also an OCVN and have loved my volunteer experience thus far! One of my favorite things is working with kids, and I especially love when young girls show an interest in nature.

As the mother of a son, I do my best to share my love of and respect for the Great Outdoors with him. I realize the world is much more apt to treat him or my other male family members with a bit more respect or seriousness when they engage in outdoor activities than if they were female. This is frustrating to me. I don’t think any of my male relatives or husband have ever come across a stranger who insisted they must be lost not once, not twice, but three times as they navigated a 12 mile hike solo (true story). I’ve heard other women report being discouraged from tackling difficult terrain while seeking permits. I’ve seen young girls in their hiking gear being talked down to, as though their only goal should have been to look “cute” as they tackled a trail. It’s all over, really.

This is all why I want my son to see me in the outdoors as much as possible. It’s why he sees me reading maps, planning hikes, and going over my gear as I pack it. It’s why he sometimes sees me heading off to hike alone. It’s why he knows I am always learning about the best ways to do things. I’m by no means an expert, but he knows that his mommy carries a knife, can pitch a tent, sometimes drinks filtered creek water and prepares meals on a camp stove. I don’t want him to see this as radical or special. I want him to know that I am capable. And that he learns a great deal of his outdoor skills from a female.

Because when he gets older and is on a long hike and comes across a woman–

He had better not ask her if she’s lost.

G0033568.JPG